Your 80th Birthday Party: Finding Answers To The Future In The Present

Your 80th birthday party: Finding answers to the future in the present

Sometimes we feel lost in the present moment, floating in a sea of seemingly infinite possibilities and unsure as to which coastline we have to reach. We ask ourselves if we should be swimming accompanied or alone, whether we should follow those that have gone before us or else find our own way. There are moments in life when we ultimately question who we are, what our journey is and who are fellow voyagers will be. We live our lives grappling with the knowledge that a severe storm could attack at any time, and we could sink or swim in the wake of this, depending both on our vulnerability and our luck. Therefore we know that we have to enjoy floating in the cool and calm waters whilst ever we can.

 

Let’s get back to dry land for a moment. If you’re having doubts as to where your life is going (and I’m quite sure that everybody has these days) I’d like you to fast-forward significantly. Let’s say to your 80th birthday. We are going to trace the life we would like, but starting from the end. By deciding the outcome of our lives, will have some goals in mind. Without knowing what these goals were, it would be impossible to reach them. In order to define the kind of life you would like to lead (and it is never to late to establish this) I ask you to establish a celebratory speech made by a loved one at your 80th birthday party. That’s right, you are going to be the one blowing out all the candles, gleefully high on sugar and basking in the warmth and love of this special moment. I would like you to write this speech. Imagine what you would like to hear said about your life and the way you have chosen to live it. In order to write this speech, try asking yourself the following questions.

 

  1. What has made me unique and has set me apart from other people?
  2. Which aspects of my personality are the ones that other people have admired?
  3. How have I used those special traits to serve the world in some way?
  4. What kind of relationship with family and friends have I nurtured? Have I managed to maintain special bonds with loved-ones?
  5. What has my professional trajectory been? Have I used my passion and my talents to the benefit of myself and those around me?
  6. Have I loved and been loved?
  7. What will I be remembered for?
  8. How have I made this world a slightly better place?

 

By projecting ourselves into the future, we’re able to imagine looking back and reflecting on our lives. In this way, we can begin to make sense of our priorities, of what is important to us as individuals. Let’s suppose you have clear answers to these questions. Now it’s time to take small steps on a daily basis, steps that will lead you closer to the person you want to be. With every decision you make, ask yourself if this will take you closer or further away from your dream.

 

It’s a great idea to keep a copy of this speech in a safe place and even to go back to make occasional revisions. Our perspectives may change with experience, though it’s likely that our fundamental values (those of love, respect and so on) will stay the same. You are the only person who can find the meaning of your life and whilst ever you are you are being true to what you believe you will swim freely, regardless of the shore to which you arrive.

 

Image

Leave a comment